Team Washington headed to Little League World Series; fiery crash at Monroe Speedway

Walla Walla Valley Little League beats La Grande, Ore., in the Northwest Regional title game.

Walla Walla Valley Little League is headed to the Little League World Series in Williamsport, Pa.

Washington (after teams win the state tournament and head off to regional they are referred to by their state) won the Northwest Regional on Saturday, beating Oregon (La Grande) 4-3 in the title game in San Bernadino, Calif.

Caiden Thomsen got the win, striking out eight and giving up four hits in 31/3 innings.

The last time Washington was represented in the LLWS was 2014 when Lynnwood Pacific qualified. Washington has won the regional six times in the last 10 years.

Most Read Stories

Unlimited Digital Access. $1 for 4 weeks.

The Little League World Series starts Thursday.

Fiery crash at Monroe Speedway

MONROE — On a night when Chris Eggleston of Erie, Colo., won the featured race at Evegreen Speedway there was a fiery three-car crash in an undercard event on Saturday night.

Jeff Knight was taken to a hospital after the crash in the Super Late Model event. Drivers Trenton Moriarity and Tyler Tanner were treated and stayed at the track.

A track announcer described the crash as one of the most dramatic in the speedway’s history. The crash apparently started when Moriarity’s car blew an engine.

Racing was delayed by 35 minutes. and the eventual winner was Tom Barrow.

Eggleston led wire-to-wire to win the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West race.

Will Rodgers of Solvang, Calif., who won last week in Watkins Glen, N.Y., was second. Nicole Behar of Spokane, one of two women drivers in the 19-car field, was third before a crowd of about 3,000.

The night’s other winners were Brad Thomas in Mini-Stocks and Steve Woods in Street Stocks.

The race won by Eggleston will be shown on NBC Sports at 10 a.m. Thursday.

Read the full article from the Source…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *